1
Customer agenda data older that 1 year gone
Problem reported by Sébastien Riccio - 4/17/2024 at 3:08 AM
Submitted
Hello SmarterTools,

Différent customer have notified us that their agenda history is gone for everything older than one year.

If I remember correctly, a new agenda cleaning option was introduced in some build, but can you please tell me why it was ACTIVATED BY DEFAULT  ???


We did not activated anything manually for this.

Now we have to restore multiple customer agendas....(if we still have backups that are up to when it started purging older entries).

Damn sorry but I'm angry on this one.

Kind regards.

Sébastien Riccio
System & Network Admin

6 Replies

Reply to Thread
0
Sébastien Riccio Replied
Now let's say I can find a old enough backup where I can grab the Agenda of the user before it started being purged for older entries.

How can I restore it while keeping existing new entries ?

Thank you.

PS: Really when we upgraded we were focused on fixing bugs and not on new features like this. I had naively assumed that such new feature would not be activated by default as it would silently change the original behavior....(keeping all entries)
Sébastien Riccio System & Network Admin https://swisscenter.com
0
Kyle Kerst Replied
Employee Post
Hello Sébastien, sorry to hear you're having trouble with this! These settings have been around for some time now, but we did move their placement recently. That being said, the default would be never so I think we likely need to get a settings backup from you from before your most recent upgrade to see if we can reproduce the change in-house. I can get a ticket started on this and we can dig into it together. 
Kyle Kerst System/Network Administrator SmarterTools Inc. (877) 357-6278 www.smartertools.com
0
Tony Scholz Replied
Employee Post
Hello Sébastien, 

I am sorry to hear that you are seeing an issue with your clients calendar being cleaned out for older entries. This option has been around since we started the build structure back in 2018. 

The default setting for this is set to "Never"


I did a test to see what the logs would show when the system level "Calendar Auto-Clean" is changed to help you track down this change. 

[2024.04.17] 22:34:35.837 [::1] User admin@ calling set global mail settings
[2024.04.17] 22:34:35.914 [::1] User admin@ calling set company info, domain: 
[2024.04.17] 22:34:35.924 [::1] User admin@ calling update virus settings
[2024.04.17] 22:34:35.931 [::1] User admin@ calling set folder auto clean settings
And when I change this on the Domain level this is what I am seeing 

[2024.04.17] 22:32:52.450 [::1] User admin@ as admin@sup-chinese.st.local calling get ip access countries
[2024.04.17] 22:32:58.938 [::1] User admin@ as admin@sup-chinese.st.local calling set domain general settings
[2024.04.17] 22:32:58.954 [::1] User admin@ as admin@sup-chinese.st.local calling set company info, domain: sup-chinese.st.local
[2024.04.17] 22:32:58.962 [::1] User admin@ as admin@sup-chinese.st.local calling set folder auto clean settings
[2024.04.17] 22:32:58.974 [::1] User admin@ as admin@sup-chinese.st.local calling set DKIM settings

If you can get a old copy of the calendar what you can do to try and recover and merge them is to 
  1. restore a copy of the user "User-2" 
  2. Export the older calendar entries
  3. import them into the current user
  4. clean up the copy of the user. 
I did a review of our release notes and am not seeing any recent changes to this area. 

I hope this helps. 
~ Tony



Tony Scholz System/Network Administrator SmarterTools Inc. (877) 357-6278 www.smartertools.com
0
Sébastien Riccio Replied
Hello Kyle, Tony,

I don't think the issue is coming from our latest upgrade but from when we did THE upgrade (from the long time running 8251 to 8664 and then a bit later from 8664 to 8747).
However if the setting was present from before these, that would mean someone at our company set it to 12 months while wandering into the admin area.

So it still could be that it's not an issue triggered by the upgrades.

I'm trying to restore a backup of some users dated from end of december 2023, right before we did the upgrade.
I will also restore SM main settings.json from this date to check how was the setting set at this period.

I'll also try your solution, Tony, to re-import older entries in these users calendars.

Thanks!
Sébastien Riccio System & Network Admin https://swisscenter.com
0
Employee Replied
Employee Post
Thanks for the update, Sébastien. This setting has indeed been available for quite some time, as far back as version 15.x and possibly earlier. 

We look forward to your next update when you've recovered the old settings files. If this IS an issue with the upgrade logic, we will certainly work to get it resolved. And if you need any help restoring that old data, we're happy to help with that as well. 

Kind regards,
0
www.HawaiianHope.org - Providing technology services to non profit organizations, low income families, homeless shelters, clean and sober houses and prisoner reentry programs. Since 2015, We have refurbished over 11,000 Computers !

Reply to Thread