Problem with compose windows when replying/forwarding/editing a draft
Problem reported by David Sovereen - March 7 at 12:51 PM
Submitted
In Webmail Enterprise Edition 16.3.6628 some users are reporting issues when trying to reply/forward email they have received, or editing drafts they have saved. We have been able to successfully recreate this issue, but it seems to be intermittent and only affecting some accounts, and does not appear to be browser specific.
 
When some users click to reply or forward a message from their message list everything seems to work ok, and the message body is loaded into the WYSIWYG editor. However, if they open the message first, and then click the reply or forward option when the compose window opens up the message body is now empty in the WYSIWYG editor. The same thing is happening when they try to go back and edit a saved draft.

2 Replies

Reply to Thread
0
Ronald Raley Replied
We submitted a video for them on this behavior and it is an open ticket.

SmarterTools acknowledged and were able to reproduce the issue. Contacted us this morning.

They are actively working on this I can assume. Ron
1
Scarab Replied
Giving this a bump.
 
We are having numerous customers reporting this issue on SM Enterprise 16.3.6638 and are able to duplicate it in-house on multiple browsers (Chrome, Firefox, Edge, Opera, Vivaldi, Brave). We have confirmed that it is not restricted to a specific user as the behavior can be duplicated on any account.
 
For us the Draft email is showing content displayed in the right-hand preview pane properly but when you [EDIT] the message it briefly shows the content for a millisecond and then goes blank. Source shows the following instead of what is actually contained in the saved Draft:
 
<div data-empty="true">
<br>
</div>
<div data-empty="true">
<br>
</div>
<div id="divSignature" contenteditable="false"></div>
 
When immediately exiting the Drafts Edit screen without any modifications being made you are prompted with "This page is asking you to confirm that you want to leave - data you have entered may not be saved." which indicates that the original Draft message has been modified.
 
We also have seen the [EDIT] button not appearing at all for some messages in the Drafts folder but that symptom hasn't been universal and can only be duplicated on specific accounts.

Reply to Thread