Subscribers purged from Mailing List Bounce Threshold reset to default on Update
Problem reported by Dave Riddle - June 16 at 8:59 PM
Resolved
I change the "Bounces before Removal" from the way too low threshold of 3 that you set it at by default to a higher number and EVERYTIME I install an upgrade you reset it back to 3 and I get slammed with notifications that users have been removed.  Thankfully that notification works because the fist time I installed an update with that 3 bounce threshold I got slammed with users asking why they were not getting emails anymore and I had no idea.  Discovered you had the ability to get notified when a user was dropped so I set that value and added the users back.  Install a new update and later rinse repeat to manually add them back and reset that threshold number that your update keeps putting back to default

16 Replies

Reply to Thread
1
Ronald Raley Replied
Dave,
 
We have also had to fight these battles. I have been trying to persuade SmarterTools to never drop subscribers by default.
 
At least they put the "deletion threshold" setting back in there. That was gone for the longest time.
 
Now, we guide customers to the notification. We say they MUST have the bounced subscriber deletion notification established.
 
Good luck in your arguments. I agree with them.
 
Ron
0
Dave Riddle Replied
Or at least if the threshold value has been changed leave it alone and don't reset it back to it's default value when an update is installed
1
Ronald Raley Replied
16.3.6751 was just installed. It wiped all threshold settings back to the default 3 for all of our domains.
0
Dave Riddle Replied
You would think that leaving user configurable settings alone would be pretty basic for an update. No one wants or needs to be surprised that an update broke your settings.
1
Ronald Raley Replied
16.3.6754 was just installed.  It wiped all threshold settings back to the default 3 for all of our domains.
0
Dave Riddle Replied
Gotta wonder if SM Developers even get feedback from here?
0
Andrea Rogers Replied
Employee Post
Hi Ronald, Dave, 
 
Thanks for letting us know about this issue, and I'm sorry about the delay in seeing this. I've forwarded the details to the development team so they can get this resolved. I'll let you know any updates that I see. 

Andrea Rogers
Communications Specialist
SmarterTools Inc.
(877) 357-6278

www.smartertools.com

0
Ronald Raley Replied
Andrea, thank you for the follow-up. Ron
3
Ronald Raley Replied
16.3.6768 was just installed. It wiped all threshold settings back to the default 3 for all of our domains. Not trying to be a pain in the a**.  Simply reporting an ongoing issue.
0
Paul Blank Replied
You would think. My days are numbered with this product.
0
Dave Riddle Replied
How hard can it be to fix the Code to NOT change user settings?
0
Dave Riddle Replied
Release notes says it is fixed in Version 16.3.6775 . Guess I'll see this weekend
"Fixed: Updating SmarterMail resets the Bounces Before Removal setting."

 
0
Andrea Rogers Replied
Employee Post Marked As Resolution
Hi everyone,
 
This issue has been addressed in SmarterMail 16.3.6775. "Fixed: Updating SmarterMail resets the Bounces Before Removal setting."
 
Please note that this issue is not directly related to the upgrade process itself. The setting was not being properly saved which caused it to be reset during an upgrade or service restart. When you upgrade to 16.3.6775, your Bounces Before Removal setting will be reset to the default value, 3. Change this back to your preferred value and upgrades going forward will not reset the setting. If you would like confirmation that the setting will be preserved going forward, you can restart the SmarterMail service after adjusting the value on 16.3.6775. 
 
We appreciate your patience while we worked through this issue.  
 
EDIT: I'll request a change to the release note to add some more details. 

Andrea Rogers
Communications Specialist
SmarterTools Inc.
(877) 357-6278

www.smartertools.com

0
Dave Riddle Replied
Thanks for the clarification
2
Dave Riddle Replied
Looks like that last update broke it again.  Just got an email of an address that got dropped. Checked that Domain (and the others with Mail Lists) and the setting had been reduced from what I set it to.  It was not at the old default of 3 it was now showing drop after 5.  This was the same for all three of the affected domains.
0
Andrea Rogers Replied
Employee Post
Hi Dave,

I have a domain set to 2 and that setting has persisted each update since 16.3.6775. I'm unfortunately not able to replicate the issue coming back. It may be best to submit a ticket to the Support Department so they can determine what's going on. 

Andrea Rogers
Communications Specialist
SmarterTools Inc.
(877) 357-6278

www.smartertools.com

Reply to Thread