Renaming domain level shared calendars does not change the name in the users Calendars list
Problem reported by Andrew Meador - August 29, 2017 at 7:16 AM
Not A Problem
I have created a few domain level shared resource calendars and have appointments/events in them. At first, I had two but then decided to split one into two separate calendars. So, I needed to rename them for clarification purposes. Well, under Settings...Domain Settings...Shared Resources... you can select a resource (Calendar) then click the Rename button at the top of the list. This works fine. However under the postmaster account and under other users accounts, when you go into the Calendar area (clicking on the left nav bar), then clicking the Calendars drop-down - the calendars still have the original name of the Calendar. These Calendars are mapped to the users and this is all being done through the web interface. Do I actually have to tell each user to go through their Settings...Calendar Settings...Calendars...Select and Change Display name to the new correct name - to affect these name changes?
 
These are not even linked into Outlook in any way - this is all web interface.
 
Thanks!

3 Replies

Reply to Thread
1
Derek Curtis Replied
Employee Post
Hi, Andrew
 
Yeah, that should push through to those who have attached the calendar to their account. I'll add it to our bug list. Thanks for pointing it out. 
Derek Curtis
COO
SmarterTools Inc.
(877) 357-6278
www.smartertools.com
0
Alex Carnot Replied
Employee Post
Hi,
 
When a user attaches a shared calendar the user is able to optionally specify a new friendly name for the shared calendar. Because users have the option to name any shared, attached calendar, there is no benefit in pushing the name if the calendar owner changes their calendar name. In fact, it may lead to more confusion. Because of this, we are marking this thread as Not a Problem.
Alex Carnot
Software Developer
SmarterTools Inc.
(877) 357-6278
www.smartertools.com
0
What if the name is the SAME as the original and there be a domain option to "Rename calendar if same" (or other wording)? This way if a user chooses to rename they get to keep it but if the user doesn't the change rolls down to the user.
 
Also, what if the domain says "Name can't be changed" AND when it's changed it rolls to the user?

Reply to Thread