Google malware false positive
Problem reported by sam - 5/3/2017 at 2:25 PM
Hi all,
I see this has also been posted by a few others in the past.

Google has deemed our Smartermail 14.5 login.aspx webmail page as "Deceptive site ahead".
This is obviously a problem for our users.
I have checked the Smartermail files and server over many times and there are no changed files, no malware, no code injections etc.

The only conclusion I can come to is that the way that login.aspx is coded and the way some javascript variables are named it is deeming it to be injected.

I submitted the site for re-review with Google and it came back fast with the same problem.
I re-submitted it again explaining it was a Smartermail login page and was clean and not heard back from them for over 48 hours...

Any ideas how I can resolve this annoying issue?
Thanks for any help.

4 Replies

Reply to Thread
Employee Replied
Employee Post
Hi Sam.  This KB Article should help you.   Google Safe Browsing Warning and SmarterMail
sam Replied
Thanks for the prompt response Rod.
As I am using a version behind the latest SM, I have implemented IIS Redirect in the MRS web.config to HTTPS.

I have now resubmitted a review to Google.
Hopefully this will fix it.
W. T. Leaver Replied
I'm experiencing this problem today with our webmail URL. I ran a scan at quttera.com which reported the following as suspicious:
I'm just wondering if SmarterTools can confirm this is their code and not an injection? I suppose I could install a separate version and compare, but would like to save the hassle if possible.
W. T. Leaver Replied
Actually I googled and found someone else's login on enterprise version 15 and compared the two files, and they are identical, so I'm more comfortable this is truly a false positive.

Reply to Thread