IMAP Delete shows strike-thru in webmail and duplicates message in Trash
Problem reported by kevind - 8/25/2015 at 8:00 AM
Submitted
Using SM and Thunderbird IMAP (latest versions):
  1. In Thunderbird, delete a message. The message is moved to Deleted Items and all is good.
  2. Go into webmail and the message still shows in the Inbox with a strikethrough (annoying, but OK, you can live with it).
  3. Do something in webmail, like move a message to a folder.  SM does a cleanup and now you have duplicate messages in Deleted Items.
Thunderbird is configured to move message immediately and seems to work fine with other mail servers.
 
Thanks,
Kevin

20 Replies

Reply to Thread
0
Paul Blank Replied
Question: in 3 above, are you moving a deleted (strikeout?) message to a folder? Not clear here.
0
kevind Replied
No, moving another, unrelated message. The same thing happens if I delete some other message in the Inbox (not the strike-thru one).

Either of these actions force Smartermail to do a cleanup and it purges messages moving the strike-thru message to Deleted Items resulting in duplicates.
0
Paul Blank Replied
I have seen similar behavior when there are "strikeout" messages, although it was usually when people deleted the strikeout messages. Maybe I haven't seen the result of a move when such messages existed. Still, this needs attention!
0
kevind Replied
Yes, thank you for helping me clarify the problem.
0
kevind Replied
Hoping ST can replicate and let me know if this is expected behavior or a bug.
 
Thanks,
Kevin
0
Matt Petty Replied
Employee Post
I was not able to replicate this. I did update my Thunderbird before doing this test. I am only getting one message in my deleted folder. Is it possible for you to make a video of this? I know TeamViewer has a method of creating a video recording easily.
Matt Petty
Software Developer
SmarterTools Inc.
(877) 357-6278
www.smartertools.com
0
kevind Replied
Sure, I could try to make a video. Do you see the strike-thru in step #2?
0
Matt Petty Replied
Employee Post
Yes, that's because it's marked to delete in an external client.
Matt Petty
Software Developer
SmarterTools Inc.
(877) 357-6278
www.smartertools.com
0
kevind Replied
Should it be marked to delete? Thunderbird is configured to move it to Deleted Items.

Tested on another IMAP server and it works as expected. Message gets moved to Deleted Items and does not remain in Inbox marked for deletion.

Step 3 is to perform some action in SM web UI like delete a different message or move a different message to a folder. Then SM does a purge and you end up with 2 identical messages in Deleted Items.
0
kevind Replied
Note that this same situation occurs if you simple move a message to a folder in Thunderbird. Webmail shows it with a line through it. Somehow Gmail and others do an automatic purge whereas SM does not.

Thunderbird might be unique as an IMAP client in that it doesn't issue a purge after moving a message. Windows 10 client does not show a strike-thru message in webmail.
0
Matt Petty Replied
Employee Post
I'm not sure about Thunderbird it kinda does things how it wants. But the strike through is standard behavior. What I'm curious about is why you are seeing duplicate messages, I can replicate everything else you mentioned but I only end up with 1 message in my deleted items.
I'm not keen on exactly what all things will cause SmarterMail to clean or purge those strike through emails but I know moving an item will trigger that to happen.
A video might help, if I can't get it to replicate it after watching the video we may need to dig deeper.
Matt Petty
Software Developer
SmarterTools Inc.
(877) 357-6278
www.smartertools.com
0
kevind Replied
I realize I might have missed a step. Follow this:

When you delete message 'A' in Thunderbird, look in Deleted Items and you should see message A. ***Don't close Thunderbird.***

Now, go into webmail and you see message 'A' in Inbox with strike-thru. Stay in webmail and delete message B. SM does a purge moving both A & B to Deleted Items.

Now look in Deleted Items with either T-bird or webmail and you will have two message A's and one message B.
0
Matt Petty Replied
Employee Post
I made a quick video of me attempting to replicate this, I'm still not seeing this.
https://www.carbonitex.net/Downloads/smdebug2.mp4

Do you have any other clients connected to that account during your testing?
Matt Petty
Software Developer
SmarterTools Inc.
(877) 357-6278
www.smartertools.com
0
kevind Replied
Hey, nice video :) Almost there.

Your Thunderbird doesn't look like it's using the Deleted Items folder. Check the Server Settings as it may default to "Trash" instead.

After you delete the message in Thunderbird, verify that there's a copy in Deleted Items and then continue.
0
Matt Petty Replied
Employee Post
I haven't modified any settings, I'm using defaults.
http://puu.sh/jYYB9/53613dbe43.png
It's using Deleted Items
Matt Petty
Software Developer
SmarterTools Inc.
(877) 357-6278
www.smartertools.com
0
kevind Replied
In your video Deleted Items has a folder icon. If set up properly, it should have a recycle can icon. Maybe exit Thunderbird and re-open.
0
Matt Petty Replied
Employee Post
I exited thunderbird and re-opened it, with zero changes it I am now seeing your issue. This is looking like possibly a bug with Thunderbird.
We might need to do a ticket if we want to take this deeper. I'm not seeing this happen on any of the other clients I tested, Outlook and emClient.
Matt Petty
Software Developer
SmarterTools Inc.
(877) 357-6278
www.smartertools.com
0
Matt Petty Replied
Employee Post
I can replicate the bug as well. If you switch to a different folder for "Move it to this folder:" Hit ok. Now switch it back to your Deleted Items. It now works as intended until you restart Thunderbird now it breaks.
Matt Petty
Software Developer
SmarterTools Inc.
(877) 357-6278
www.smartertools.com
0
kevind Replied
Matt,
 
Looks like this can be fixed by changing an expunge setting in Thunderbird using the config editor: http://kb.mozillazine.org/Deleting_messages_in_IMAP_accounts
 
Other mail servers must do this automatically because I tested Thunderbird with Google and 2 other servers and the expunge setting wasn't necessary.  Also, you tested with other email clients and it worked fine. So it's really only a Thunderbird <=> SmarterMail interaction.
 
As far as I'm concerned, this issue is resolved. Thanks for your help!
Kevin
0
Matt Petty Replied
Employee Post
Glad we were able to work it out. It's weird that that functionality wouldn't be on by default for Thunderbird since that seems to be common behavior, even though we don't do it.
Matt Petty
Software Developer
SmarterTools Inc.
(877) 357-6278
www.smartertools.com

Reply to Thread