1
User's alotted disk space resetting after deleting or transferring a large batch of emails over IMAP or ActiveSync
Problem reported by Russ Miller - September 9, 2014 at 7:59 AM
Submitted
Over the years, I have noticed that when some users transfer or delete a large batch of emails over IMAP or ActiveSync, their allotted disk space resets.
 
Let's say by default a user's alotted disk space is 250 MB and then if I manually increase it to a higher amount. Everything is fine until that user does a large transfer. Then what could happen is all of a sudden it goes back down to 250 MB and notifies the user that they are out of disk space.
 
Has anyone else experienced this? If so, do you know what the cause is?
 
I am currently using the most recent version of SmarterMail (12.4.5364).

1 Reply

Reply to Thread
0
Matthew Bramble Replied
September 30, 2014 at 1:23 PM
Check the userConfig.xml file and see if there is missing data such as empty tags such as the <maxMailboxSize>.  That would point to a corruption.  I've seen many dirty shutdowns where SmarterMail hangs and random userConfig.xml files get corrupted, often missing the passwords and the mailbox size limit.  This would be a different set of circumstances, but it would be helpful if you were able to track down other changes in that file.

Reply to Thread